Public holidays and pay processing

Key points

  • Your 'pay day' is defined as the day (from early AM) your employees see their wages in their bank account.
  • We set, and the bank processes pays overnight the night before your set pay day, so:
  • You cannot have a pay day after a Saturday, Sunday or any National public holiday.
  • Do I need to record public holidays taken? Yes. Yes you do! Use the 'Public holiday off' pay type in timesheets.
  • What about recording a public holiday worked? Definitely, because that needs to be paid at 'time and a half' or 1.5 times your employees' standard rate AND you need to add an 'Alternative Holiday' day to your employee's balance (in a new row).

Further notes:

  1. If your normal payday is Tuesday, a typical long weekend like the one above will mean you will have to adjust your pay day (make it earlier or later).
  2. If your normal payday is Thursday and you use the FREE 2-day plan (i.e. you deposit by 10pm Monday), you will need to deposit the week before to avoid 1-day plan fees of 50 cents / per employee paid, unless you are a not for profit, when all plans are free.

Calendar for 2018

Holiday name Date: actual Date: observed Date: next possible pay-day
New Year's Day Monday 1 January Monday 1 January Wednesday 4 January
Day after New Year's Day Tuesday 2 January Tuesday 2 January Thursday 4 January
Waitangi Day Tuesday 6 February Tuesday 6 February Thursday 8 February
Good Friday Friday 30 March Friday 30 March Wednesday 4 April
Easter Monday Monday 02 April Monday 02 April Wednesday 4 April
ANZAC Day Wednesday 25 April Wednesday 25 April Friday 27 April
Queen's Birthday 1st Monday in June Monday 4 June Wednesday 6 June
Labour Day 4th Monday in October Monday 22 October Wednesday 24 October
Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December Tuesday 25 December Friday 28 Saturday
Boxing Day Wednesday 26 December Wednesday 26 December Friday 28 Saturday